The Upswing Fund for Adolescent Mental Health is a collaborative fund focusing on the mental health and well-being of adolescents who are of color and/or LGBTQ+. Created in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, which has had a devastating impact on young people across the United States, The Upswing Fund provides critical resources to front-line organizations that provide the services that young people rely on. In addition, the Fund supports efforts to address key systemic challenges in the adolescent mental health system such as stigma around seeking mental health support.

As a collaborative fund, The Upswing Fund aggregates philanthropic support to achieve greater impact and leverages donor giving to scale proven interventions, accelerate innovation, and advance critical efforts to create policy change to expand the availability of mental health support. Our donors share a commitment to The Fund’s strategic grantmaking as informed by our independent expert Advisory Committee.

The Upswing Fund is seeded by Pivotal Ventures, an investment and incubation company created by Melinda French Gates to advance social progress in the United States. Further support is provided by the Klarman Family Foundation. The Fund is advised by a renowned set of mental health experts with deep clinical and research expertise and a passion to support youth and communities. The Upswing Fund is powered by Panorama, a platform for social change dedicated to solving global problems through audacious thinking and bold action.

To be eligible for grants from The Upswing Fund, organizations must serve or benefit the Fund’s target populations ages 10–18, be certified as 501(c)(3) by the IRS and meet the criteria established by the Fund.

Our Team

Solomé Tibebu

Solomé Tibebu

Director, The Upswing Fund

Jennifer Cho

Vice President, Partnerships

Sierra Fox-Woods

Sierra Fox-Woods

Program Officer, The Upswing Fund

Gabrielle Fitzgerald

Gabrielle Fitzgerald

Founder & CEO, Panorama

Advisory Committee

The Upswing Fund named a ten-person Advisory Committee of diverse experts across a range of adolescent mental health specialties who support our work to provide resources to adolescent mental health providers and mental health policy, advocacy, and system enabling organizations. The committee, in partnership with the Fund’s director, defined the grantmaking priorities and criteria for awarding grants.

Anne Marie Albano photo

Anne Marie Albano, PhD, ABPP


Alfiee M. Breland-Noble , PhD, MHSc, MA

Angela Diaz Photo

Angela Diaz, MD, PhD

Teresa Halliday

Teresa Halliday, MA

Kimberlyn Leary

Kimberlyn Leary, PhD, MPA

Ben Miller headshot

Benjamin F. Miller, PsyD

Stephanie Craig

Stephanie Craig Rushing, PhD, MPH

Katherine Switz

Katherine Switz, MBA

jack turban

Jack Turban, MD MHS

Ken Zimmerman

Ken Zimmerman, JD